Skip to the content of the web site.


kyledaunKyle Daun was born in Winnipeg, Canada, in 1975.  He graduated with a B. Sc. (Mech. Eng.) from the University of Manitoba in 1997 and received his Masters in Applied Science (Mech. Eng.) from the University of Waterloo in 1999.  For his master’s research under Prof. Terry Hollands he developed a methodology for solving radiant enclosure problems through infinitesimal area analysis, based on parametric representation of the enclosure surface. 

He then moved to the University of Texas at Austin to research inverse design of infrared heating furnaces under Profs. Jack Howell and David Morton, where he received his Ph. D. in 2003.  From 2004 to 2007 he was an NSERC postdoctoral fellow and then a research officer at the Institute for Chemical Process and Environmental Technology at the National Research Council Canada (NRC-ICPET) in Ottawa, where he investigated radiation heat transfer in solid oxide fuel cells with Dr. Steven Beale, and then helped develop and improve combustion diagnostics (line-of-sight-attenuation, laser-induced incandescence) with Dr. Greg Smallwood and Dr. Fengshan Liu.  Amongst other accomplishments, he was one of the first to experimentally characterize the gas-surface scattering physics underlying thermal accommodation in LII, which he later validated through molecular dynamics simulations.

In 2007 he returned to the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering at the University of Waterloo, where he is currently an associate professor.  His main research interests are heat conduction from aerosolized nanoparticles, laser-based combustion tomography, heat treatment in materials processing, and optimal design of industrial combustion devices.  He has published 40 journal papers, and his research is cited in several textbooks on radiative transfer.  Professor Daun is presently the Chair of the ASME Heat Transfer Division's K-6 Committee "Heat Transfer in Energy Systems."

He has been recognised as a top reviewer for JQSRT (2009) and the Journal of Heat Transfer (2013), and in 2010 he received the JQSRT Young Scientist Award.

Click here to see a detailed curriculum vitae.